Get to Know Me!

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Taylor Robinson and I am a senior at Appalachian State University. I am a military kid so I have lived all around the world. I am majoring in History, Social Studies Secondary Education with a minor in Women Studies. My goal for right now is to become a Holocaust (Shoah) history teacher and later get my master degree in curriculum and instruction with a certification in women studies. I always knew that I wanted to become a teacher, grade level has changed, but the passion of teaching kids have always been there. I would like to teach in Department of Defense Education Activity School and teach military students to be able to give back to other military students. Growing up my parents said to do something that I will enjoy doing and Appalachian State has given me the pathway to do what I love to do.

At my time here at Appalachian State I have learned so many new things and have been exposed to many new ideas. The time that I have been here I have learned how to Swing dance and now I’m a swing club teacher. I have also joined the Jewish community here in Boone and started to learn Hebrew. This past year I have been able to work with fellow teachers to learn about holocaust curriculum in the high schools here in North Carolina and expand holocaust education in all schools.

Leave a Reply

